Jan. 31, 2017

MARTA Board of Directors Adds Four New Members

The MARTA Board of Directors added four new board members in January.

The Fulton County Commission appointed Alicia Ivey, president of Goldbergs Concession Services, to represent South Fulton County. Al Pond, who serves as chairman of the board for Pond and Company, was selected by North Fulton Mayors for his appointment to represent North Fulton.

Thomas Worthy, vice president of government and external affairs for Piedmont Healthcare, was appointed by Gov. Nathan Deal to serve on the board. Worthy is the first gubernatorial appointment to the MARTA Board as initiated in HB 213. Russell McMurry, commissioner for the Georgia Department of Transportation and Chris Tomlinson, executive director for the Georgia Regional Transportation Authority/State Road and Tolls Authority remain as ex-officio State appointees to the board.

North DeKalb Mayors appointed former Decatur Mayor Bill Floyd as its DeKalb County board representative. DeKalb County has three additional appointments to the MARTA board. DeKalb’s current board members will continue to serve on the board until appointments are made.

Clayton County Commissioners confirmed their two appointees serving on the board. Also, the City of Atlanta must confirm their three appointees.

The next meeting for the MARTA Board of Directors is Thursday, Feb. 2, 2017 at 1:30 p.m. at MARTA HQ, 2424 Piedmont Road, Atlanta, Ga. 30324.

For more information about MARTA, visit www.itsmarta.com. 



Back to top